Bringing Things to an Island and having NO CHOICE

If there was an album, one album that I would bring with me to a deserted island, it would have to be Bon Iver’s – For Emma, Forever Ago.

For some reason I have this belief that, if I listened to this album for long enough, I could achieve some sort of hidden ability to hear deeper, far deeper into the music. There’s something about the sound it emits and his voice, and the words that just evokes that sort of feeling that this music has an unlocked level in it. I don’t know if you know what I’m talking about. But if you do, I would imagine, if I listened to it in a cave, or a cove, on the seashore, or on a pile of driftwood on the island, for as many times as I can bear, his music would sound unremittingly, unforgivingly, un-remorsefully so much more amplified. In an almost “trippy”, unearthly sort of way.

I know, we’re all already familiar with the bringing-things-to-an-island concept. The idea is that that thing we bring, is meant to be something we can’t live without, or something that is our favourite something.

Bon Iver isn’t my favourite artist though, because one, I don’t have one and its almost impossible for me to decide on what food to eat in a day, let alone something as abstract and transcendental as music. I can’t decide on a favourite anything, so I stink at this game.

But the point of this game is that we’re forced to a hand, and if forced to make a decision, we would have to make it. I decided that I might as well have to go along with “For Emma, Forever Ago” because It is my favourite album title of recent years.

Its an album that always gives me that unshakable feeling of loss, but a loss that was found in writing this music, and that there’s always a way out of the things that seem too big to bear. Its a feeling that would last me a good long time. So I would bring it.

I suppose my point is, to have no choice is a good choice. If we were forced to make a decision based on the least of elements, with the words on an album, being my defining factor, then we would do whatever we can within our capacities to make something work for us. Then decide to be happy with that choice. Because we have no other choice.

So no choice is a good choice.

I’ve recently deactivated my Facebook account, and I can tell you right now, its one of the better decisions I’ve made in life. I have a feeling I would need to go back on it again very soon for work purposes, but I also can say for certain when I’ve been left with no choice but to NOT be on Facebook, I began to expand my world knowledge on my own, and not letting whatever is on my feed to define my knowledge for me. I’ve also began to actively seek out my communication with my friends, because I had no other choice, and it has been great.

Also: Jeff Buckley’s “Grace”, or “Echoes, Silence, Patience, Grace”. Again, for the album title. Maybe, just for the “grace” that I need so much of. Like you wouldn’t believe.

……Because there are certain songs that you can listen to again and again, and certain words that you could read over and over again, that you can never grow tired of.Β 

5 comments

  1. Hey love,

    I don’t usually drop comments/replies. But, I just thought of letting you know that I thoroughly enjoyed what you wrote. I can’t say I know exactly how you feel, but there is this familiarity I found as I was reading your entry. And coincidentally, I was coincidentally listening to Bon Iver’s Flume.

    Much love..

    1. Christina, is that you?!

      Thanks so much for this! I will treasure your comment all the more because you don’t usually drop comments.

      and how cool is that that you’re listening to Flume! haha! πŸ™‚

      I also took a look at ur tumblr and i love the layout… been thinking of changing my layout here on wordpress too… know any good ones?

      1. Ngee, yes it’s me! =P Surprise!

        Sorry I spammed your post with repetitive comments. But hmm, I’m not sure about the layout though. I’m not very familiar with WordPress =/ Sorry, love..

  2. Hey love!

    Just thought I dropped by to let you know that I thoroughly enjoyed what you wrote. I can’t say that I know this exact situation/emotion, but there was a sense of familiarity as I was reading. Coincidentally, I was listening to Bon Iver’s Flume! Heh!

    Much love..

    PS: I’m not sure if you got the other comment, but in case you didn’t, here’s a back up! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

