October Life Update

Hello everybody,

I apologize for not writing in so long. There had been those (like two people), that have been asking where I’ve been. Well fear not! I am back after, too long. What happened was, I had been interning for awhile at the best radio station in Malaysia, I have much to share about it, but this should be reserved for another day.

Today I’m taking time to celebrate some of life’s little victories:

1) I loss weight, without trying, which is wonderful! I didn’t know how it happened, but I’m glad it happened. Let us take a moment of silence for the mighty fats that have fallen.

2) I’ve upgraded my computer to the new OS. It has been reformatted. The RAM upgraded as well. I am so impressed with this new fangled thing. Also, my green Adium bird is wearing an Arsenal jersey ( hahaha!), and I get a kick out of that.

I’m also going to share five things that I’ve learned in this season of my life, that I think are always worth sharing and remembering:

1) It’s okay to have no idea what you’re doing.

My mother gave me her sound advice on this. When she first started out, she was just like me, exploring life. She interned at a secretarial job, getting bullied and mistreated by the older staff and colleagues. She left after two weeks; that was her first, and shortest job stay. Now this stood out to me, because my mother is my hero and what is, in my mind, the epitome of strength. Growing up, she’s taught me to work hard, to press on, stay and push through even when it’s tough. I grew up believing that this was strength, and it is, but today I saw a different side to my mother, that she came to learn this through “experiencing”, and there had been a moment in life where she wasn’t strong, or the person that became strong. It tells me that we are human, and for those that feel weak sometimes, it is a great comfort and hope.

The other part to this is that there are some situations where you can’t stay. So her advice on staying or leaving a company is, “It’s okay to not know what you’re doing, you spend your whole life learning. It’s also okay to leave when you find out this is not something you want; in fact, I still don’t know what I’m doing.”

Life isn’t a this or that, A or B choice, when faced with two choices, there are always 146 more choices and other ways to succeed (this latter bit I got from watching SUITS, watch SUITS! it’s great).

2) Number two, whenever you don’t know whether what you’re doing is right or not, whenever you catch yourself thinking, ” I don’t think I’m smart enough, talented enough or  good enough”, just keep on doing it anyway.

3) Opinions matter, but actions are what counts.

Awhile ago, I asked my sister how come a friend of hers, whom I always knew as being headstrong, opinionated, and everything you would think a strong, independent woman would be, is living her days being concerned about nothing but “being pretty”. She responded with, ” She is opinionated, but she doesn’t do anything about her opinions.”

That’s when it happened, the lightbulb clicked, and I learned that your strength is not solely measured by what you have in your head, its also about what you do about it. If you’re not doing anything about it or contributing any of your talents and skills that you have, then it is dead to the world.

4) If you’re falling in love, fall in love with someone who you can fart in front of.

This isn’t just about comfort, or the duration of time you’ve spent together to reach to that comfort level. It’s about acceptance, and the acceptance of each other’s humanness.

5) Lastly, at number five,

Always choose the thing that challenges you.

Thank you everybody,

for reading this and always encouraging me to write more.

Starting my next post…

One comment

  1. *sound of crickets* I started reading your ‘hate CFM” blog (was this the radio station you interned at?) and continued to read one or two.

    Then all of them, like ten…ha ha…including ‘about this blog’. Then I clicked on your fb. Meh. Ten? Oi kindy teacher Phd person, write some more lah.

    *Runs off to find Daryl*

Leave a Reply

